Turning Barefoot Sandals into Lacy Gloves!

I Gleeful things barefoot sandal crochet patternhave to say, with a few notable exceptions it really is fun to be a girl. I’ve always loved wearing makeup and jewelry and fun accessories that serve no purpose other than to look pretty. So when looking for crochet patterns, practical things like scarves and hats are always great but sometimes I want to do something a little different that’s just for fun!

This week I had the opportunity to test a pattern for Poppy Barefoot Sandals for Julie King of Gleeful Things, and now I’m obsessed! What a fun way to dress up your feet! These are perfect for wearing at the beach or around the house (especially if you’re like me and don’t like wearing shoes!), and can even be worn with heels or ballet flats to add some extra style!

While the Poppy Barefoot Sandals pattern isn’t available quite yet, Julie does have a gorgeous free Goddess Barefoot Sandal pattern available here. I just finished a pair using size 3 cotton crochet thread and love how they turned out! Then the other day Julie mentioned on her blog that she had seen people using these on their hands and I got a brainstorm! I knew I didn’t want to deal with a long tie on my wrist so I decided to try a button closure and it worked great!

Here’s how I did it:

I used slightly smaller crochet thread (not sure of the size, I had a bunch left over from my time in mexico but it’s just slightly thinner than size 3) and a size 1 steel hook and followed the pattern as instructed through row 6 where you make the toe loop. Here I wanted a slightly longer loop to make it more comfortable on my hand, so I chained 28, then continued with the instructions up until you make the first strap, and then instead of making the long strap follow these instructions to make a button loop:

goddessbuttonloopCh 25, then starting in 2nd ch from hook slip stitch in each ch, then slip stitch into the ch space where you started the strap ch (next to your last hdc), ch 1, turn. Slip stitch into each stitch to end, ch 1 turn. Sc in same chain space you started in to make the loop. Skip the part where it says tie a knot and FO, and continue with the pattern from 4 HDC as written until you get to the next strap.

Once you’re at the next strap, you’re going to add the button (I used a 1/2 inch black button with two holes).

Ch 32. Leaving a long length of thread, fasten off. Thread your needle onto your tail and thread button onto your chain, making sure it’s in the middle of your chain. Then sew end of chain next to where you started your chain. Remove needle and use your hook to pull up a loop where your next stitch should go, still using the same tail of thread, then continue on with the remaining instructions.

That’s it! While making your button loop, make sure to test it to make sure the length is right for your hand and adjust by adding/subtracting chains as necessary.

Now go make some!

This entry was posted in Crochet, Crochet Patterns, What's New and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment