Back to School!

Well, my little man is off to preschool and my not so little girl is going into 2nd grade already! It’s crazy how time flies, and along with the relief I think most parents feel with the return to school, for me it’s always a little sad too. I love having them around, and I’ll definitely miss their help now that baby is on the brink of walking and into everything! But no one can stop time, and in the midst of all the back to school shopping I discovered there’s a new trend, and it’s everywhere! From backpacks to lunch boxes and everything in between, foxes are definitely in. Apparently there’s even a song….

ICrocheted amigurumi fox‘d been getting more and more requests for fox items so I headed over to Pinterest to do some “research” and came across some absolutely adorable patterns! For example, I made this amigurumi fox for a baby shower (it’s going to be the topper for a diaper cake!) from a free pattern (available here). I was so happy with how he turned out that I decided to add him to the shop! I had a small amount of this lovely rusty red color left that I had bought on clearance months ago and ended up using a mishmash of patterns to come up with a little fox hat! If you’d like to make your own, this is how I did mine: I used this pattern for the base of the hat (my go-to pattern for most ofCrocheted fox beanie the hats I do), but since I didn’t have enough yarn for the ear flaps I decided to turn it into a beanie, stopping at the last round before it tells you to start working on the ear flaps and finishing with a round of single crochet. Then I followed these instructions for the face, but changed the ears a little. I kept the inner ear pattern the same, and for the outer ear I used the red color up to row 4, then switched to black for the tips. Instead of using black yarn to sew the inner and outer ear together like the original pattern shows, I just used the white from the inner ear. I think it turned out really cute! I was able to find some similar colored yarn on my last foray and now I’m working on the ear flap version.

Aside from my foxes, I’ve been spending some time this week rounding up some of my finished projects and getting them photographed and listed, including a crocodile, cupcake, lion, and the fishy teether I wrote about in a previous post. Check them all out here!

Now it’s time to get backpacks packed and clothes ready for the first day of school tomorrow! Good luck to all of you preparing for the morning rush, I hope you have a great week!

 

About Ashley

I'm a handmade shop owner specializing in crochet toys (amigurumi), accessories and patterns. I'm also a stay-at-home mom to my daughter and 2 sons and the lucky wife of a wonderful man who tolerates my yarn addiction and encourages me to keep crafting, even if the dishes don't get done ^_^
This entry was posted in Crochet, Crochet Patterns, Family Happenings, Shop News, What's New. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

