Outlander Inspired Cowl–Version II

claire knitted cowlAfter making my first Outlander inspired cowl the other day I decided to make another version that’s worn without doubling up. This one works up a little quicker and doesn’t use so much yarn ^_^. It follows the same stitch pattern as the other one, but by keeping it all one piece it drapes a little differently and gives it a slightly different look.

I wanted to try a different yarn this time that would feel a little more “authentic” so I did this one in a bulky (5) wool roving yarn. It’s slightly less chunky than the previous version that uses super bulky (6) yarn and makes a somewhat more flexible fabric. I used the same P (11.5 mm) hook.

*Note: To start, I worked the first row of dc into the back bumps of the starting chain. If you haven’t done this before, if you turn your starting chain over you should see a row of small bumps going down the middle. Instead of working into the chain as you normally would, you make each double crochet into that little bump. The result is a nice uniform bottom row that looks more like all the others.

Here’s what you need:

2 skeins bulky (5) yarn (I used about 1 1/2 skeins, I’m guessing about 200 yds, of  wool roving yarn I happened to have in my stash. It’s very similar to Patons Classic Wool Roving or you could substitute any bulky weight yarn.)

Size P (11.5mm)  hook

Yarn needle for finishing

Gauge: 7 dc and 5 rows following pattern= 4 inches

Finished measurements: 14 inches long by 12 inches wide (when folded in half).

Note: Cowl is worked in turned rows to create a long rectangle, and then stitched together at the ends. Make sure your ridges are vertical when you seam the edges together.

Instructions:

Ch 27

Row 1 (RS): Dc in back bump of 4th ch from hook and in each ch across, turn. (Don’t do a turning ch.)

Row 2: Sl st in 1st dc, *dc in next dc, sl st in next dc. Repeat from * in each dc across, ending with a sl st in the top of turning chain. Turn.

Row 3: Ch 3 (counts as dc), dc in each st across. Turn.

Row 4: Sl st in 1st dc, *dc in next dc, sl st in next dc. Repeat from * in each dc across, ending with a sl st in last dc. Turn.

Repeat rows 3 and 4 until your rectangle measures 14 inches (for me it took 32 rows). Double check to make sure it will fit over your head. when the edges are seamed together– it should be a little snug but not uncomfortably tight. If necessary add or subtract rows to get the right fit for you. Now fold in half with wrong side facing, line up the ends and slip stitch through both sides to seam them together. Fasten off and weave in ends.

You’re done! So which style do you prefer, the shorter cowl or the long doubled up scarf? Let me know what you think!

About Ashley

I'm a handmade shop owner specializing in crochet toys (amigurumi), accessories and patterns. I'm also a stay-at-home mom to my daughter and 2 sons and the lucky wife of a wonderful man who tolerates my yarn addiction and encourages me to keep crafting, even if the dishes don't get done ^_^
This entry was posted in Crochet Patterns, What's New and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Outlander Inspired Cowl–Version II

  1. Andrea says:

    I’ve tried several patterns, but yours are by far the best! I think I might even like this one more than the first, but both are great.
    Thank you so much!

  2. Fran McKean says:

    Hi Ashley

    I have started this and am loving the pattern , just wanted to check with you in regards to the sizing you mentioned it would be 14 x 12 inches when folded in half, does that mean that after the suggested 32 rows it should be approx 24 inches before folding.

    Thanks

    Fran ( Scotland)

  3. Elaine Anderson says:

    Hi Ashley. Thanks for your patterns. Can’t wait to try them. I, like you, am obsessed with all things Outlander. Just wondering if you have created any crochet patterns for the hand warmers. I am not a knitter, but have been crocheting for about 40 years.

    • Ashley says:

      Thanks Elaine! No, unfortunately life has been crazy and I haven’t had a chance to work on any new patterns. Hopefully by the time winter rolls around I’ll have some time to work on them:)

    • Cynthia says:

      My Mother-in-law and her friends are big into Outlander and I have been making gifts for her and her friends. I love this pattern for the cowl and I am currently making it but haven’t completed it yet. In response to hand-warmers. I found this pattern on ravelry: (http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/outlander-cranesmuir-gauntlets) for the hand-warmers. I made a few edits to work it in the round instead of flat and then seamed together and they turned out amazing. I am actually making my mother-in-law a pair of the hand-warmers and this cowl for her birthday. Hope this helps for patterns for Outlander hand warmers.

Leave a Reply

