Fall is Here!!!

It’s officially fall!! Which to me marks the beginning of the non-stop fun that is the holiday season ^_^ Alright, so maybe it’s not all fun and games, but I just get so ridiculously happy the closer we get to Christmas, and inspiration for new projects is everywhere! Right now I’m thinking about our upcoming local vendor events, specifically the holiday craft fair coming up in November and trying to decide what all I need to have ready for it. I’ve had the chance to try out several new patterns that I’m super excited about, and have been testing a few more of my own designs that I’m excited to share with you soon!

Every year I like to welcome the new season with a small splurge on some of the warm cozy yarns I’ve been holding off on all summer to try. So the husband took me on a yarn run the other day and waited patiently (for the first half hour at least) while I oohed and aahed over everything. Since I was on a budget (sigh) I couldn’t get nearly as much as I would have liked, but I love what I ended up with! I won’t go into too much detail now since I’m working on a yarn review post, but I’ll share a few with you now. While the goal was to try some new things, I couldn’t resist this Red Heart Boutique Unforgettable in Stained Glass, a colorway I hadn’t seen before.  I just finished using it to make this infinity scarf (free pattern here) and I am in love! All my favorite colors in one skein of yarn!

 

Crocheted fox cowl pattern by Heidi MayI was also really excited to find a new bulky weight yarn by Lion Brand called Woolspun (a Michaels exclusive). I had been looking for awhile for a good bulky weight yarn to use for a specific pattern and almost missed the display! It comes in some gorgeous solid colors and is really lovely to work with. I picked up some in a rusty color to use for this fox cowl pattern available for purchase from The Velvet Acorn. (Heidi, the designer, is in my opinion an absolute genius and I could spend tons of money in her Etsy pattern shop!)  It has a nice drape and feel to it, it doesn’t split like other bulky yarns I’ve tried, and has a squishiness (for lack of a better word) to it that is just really nice to work with!

Speaking of foxes, I received a custom order request for a fox ear flap baby hat and legwarmer set, and this is what I came up with:

foxset

While I’d made legwarmers for adults before, I’d never had the chance to try them for babies and I just love how they turned out! I ended up making this set for my own little man, and was so glad he sat still long enough to get a decent picture! The hat is a variation on the pattern described in a previous post and the legwarmers are from a free pattern by Danyel Pink Designs found here.

Our other big project for the past week has been moving my daughter into her own room. This is bittersweet for me since it means the loss of my dedicated craft room, but I knew this day was coming and on the upside it’s definitely cut down on the squabbling with her brother now that they each have their own space! Another positive is it gave me an excuse to go through all of my crafting supplies and finally get organized! It’s actually not that big of a loss since I like to work in the living room where I can be with the family anyway, and I really didn’t need a whole room for my stuff and was (miraculously) able to fit almost everything into the hall closet. So everyone’s happy, and I can finally find everything! All in all a good week ^_^

About Ashley

I'm a handmade shop owner specializing in crochet toys (amigurumi), accessories and patterns. I'm also a stay-at-home mom to my daughter and 2 sons and the lucky wife of a wonderful man who tolerates my yarn addiction and encourages me to keep crafting, even if the dishes don't get done ^_^
This entry was posted in Crochet, Crochet Patterns, Family Happenings, Holiday Crochet & Crafts, What's New and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

