Purses and Puppies!

While baby is napping and the older kids are occupied watching Frozen for the millionth time, I thought I’d try to squeeze in a quick post:) It took the better part of a week but I finally finished Bella’s whale bag awhile back and I LOVE how it turned out! This thing is huge! the pattern (from “Amigurumi on the Go”) was really easy to follow, just a bit time consuming. Definitely worth it though! I used Lily Sugar n’ Cream yarn and it worked perfectly for this project.

tashaI’ve made it my goal to make everything from this book (it’s rare that I love a book enough to commit to making every project!) but since finishing the whale I’ve been pretty busy (I’ve taken on a part time job babysitting and we also just adopted two new fur babies, Tasha and Paloma, to ease the pain of losing our beloved German Shepherd Tenaya awhile ago). I was able to make progress this week though and finished the next item on my list, the ladybug bag. This was a much quicker project! The only change I made was to the handle. The pattern just does a drawstring that ties at the top but I wanted an actual handle to make it easier to carry around. I modified it to make a double palomaloop drawstring handle by sewing the ends of the cord together after weaving it through the top and then puling out a long loop on each side. It works great!  This would make a super cute little lunch bag or purse to carry around all the little bits and pieces kids seem to accumulate!  Next on the list is an octopus bag, another pretty big project that hopefully won’t take me as long as the whale!

Baby’s awake, so I’m off again:) Have a great Sunday!

 

About Ashley

I'm a handmade shop owner specializing in crochet toys (amigurumi), accessories and patterns. I'm also a stay-at-home mom to my daughter and 2 sons and the lucky wife of a wonderful man who tolerates my yarn addiction and encourages me to keep crafting, even if the dishes don't get done ^_^
This entry was posted in Crochet, Crochet Patterns, Family Happenings, What's New and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

