Review of “Amigurumi on the Go” by Ana Paula Rimoli

Amigurumi on the Go by Ana Paula RimoliSpring has definitely sprung and it’s been getting hot here in the desert, so I’ve been looking for projects that use cooler cotton yarn (not to mention Michael’s had a big sale on cotton yarn and I went a little overboard stocking up…). With that in mind, while looking through my crochet library I decided it was time to revisit an old favorite, “Amigurumi on the Go” by Ana Paula Rimoli. This book features 30 patterns for adorable bags, purses, and even apple cozies! All of the patterns work with any worsted weight yarn, but cotton and cotton blend yarns are recommended due to the fact that your kids are going to want to take these bags everywhere and they will get dirty, so you’ll want something that will hold up well to frequent washing. ^_^ (I’ve been using Lily Sugar ‘n Cream and Peaches & Cream cotton yarn for these projects, both are pretty easy to find and inexpensive with a decent variety of colors.)

crocheted bunny pencil caseProjects include backpacks and pencil cases (bunny, penguin, bear, and monkey), round purses (cat, panda, apple, and koala), octopus bag, owl book bag, mushroom purse, whale bag, little owl purse, fish bag, bear messenger bag, ladybug and cupcake snack bags, colorful little duffel bag, apple cozies (cat, chick, owl, bunny, koala), carrot and tomato coin purses, and a turtle lunch tote. Last year I did the turtle lunch tote for my mom who collects turtles, as well as the fish bag and owl book bag (pictures here). This week I finished the bunny pencil case and am currently working on the whale bag. (Photos of all the projects are available on the Amazon product page.) 

Lily Sugar 'n Cream Cotton Yarn

Lily Sugar ‘n Cream Cotton Yarn

As with all of Ana’s books, patterns are very easy to follow and she includes instructions for each of the stitches used (chain, slip stitch, single crochet,  half double crochet, and double crochet) as well as general guidelines and recommendations for yarn brands , hook sizes, adding faces and zippers, and putting all the pieces together. While some of the projects are really big (like the whale bag I’m working on, which was designed to be used as an overnight bag for sleepovers), there are plenty of small and quick patterns that would make very cute and unique gifts. In fact, I’m planning to make a set of apple cozies for my daughter’s teacher as a thank you gift at the end of the year.

 

It’s rare for me to come across crochet books where I want to make every project in them, but Ana’s books never disappoint me and always succeed in making my to-do list quite a bit longer. I just love the original designs and the fact that they’re both cute and practical. I am now very anxiously awaiting her next book, “Amigurumi at Home” scheduled for release June 9, 2014!

 

About Ashley

I'm a handmade shop owner specializing in crochet toys (amigurumi), accessories and patterns. I'm also a stay-at-home mom to my daughter and 2 sons and the lucky wife of a wonderful man who tolerates my yarn addiction and encourages me to keep crafting, even if the dishes don't get done ^_^
This entry was posted in Crochet, Product/Book Reviews, What's New and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

