Making Use of Your Craft Clutter

If you’re anything like me you probably have an ever growing stash of paper scraps, leftover stickers, and other random craft bits and pieces exploding out of a drawer or cupboard (or in my case, several) somewhere. Since my hubby gave me an ultimatum that I’m not allowed to set foot in a craft store until I’ve cut down my existing inventory (a pretty empty threat, but still, I see his point),  I’ve been finding a variety of ways to turn my craft clutter into useful objects. My favorite–magnets! Here’s some step by step instructions:

Materials:

  • Thin pieces of wood cut to the size you want your magnet to be (they sell long strips of very thin wood at craft stores that you can cut to the size you need with a craft knife–you can get several magnets out of one sheet)
  • Spray adhesive
  • Paper, stickers, or whatever embellishments you want to add
  • Magnet dots or strips (also sold at craft stores)
  • Craft knife
  • Craft glue

Step 1:

Pick out a paper to use for your background and cut it so that it covers the entire piece of wood (the easiest way for me is to just lay the piece of wood on top of the paper and trace it, then use a craft knife to cut it out so you have very clean lines). Lay the wood on a clean piece of plain white paper or cardboard and apply a thin coat of spray adhesive (best to do this step outside). Carefully adhere the paper to the wood and press down, allowing the glue to dry before moving on to the next step.

*Note–Avoid using very thin paper because the apray adhesive can cause the paper to discolor and get a bit patchy.

*Note 2–Unless you’re using a thicker piece of wood, avoid making your magnet too big because it will sometimes bend out of shape, especially if it gets too big a dose of spray adhesive.

Step 2:

Decorate! Use leftover paper scraps, stickers, buttons, photos, inspirational quotes, whatever you’d like to see on your fridge every day. I use a tape runner to adhere smaller pieces of paper (a very useful tool that dispenses adhesive tape-look for it in the scrapbooking aisle of your craft store) and Tacky Glue to stick on any embellishments (Tacky Glue will dry clear).

Step 3:

Display! Show of your crafty skills and dress up your fridge at the same time.

These make really great little DIY gifts, perfect for stocking stuffers, and are an easy craft that kids will enjoy. Here’s some examples:

Handmade purple magnet with quote "Children reinvent your world for you."

red magnet with silver hearts with quote "There is only one happiness in life, to love and be loved"

Handmade magnet with beatles quote "Love is all you need"

DIY magnet with quote "Life isn't a matter of milestone but of moments"

Silver, black and red magnet with quote "It's only with the heart that one can see clearly"

Handmade green and pink magnet with quote "Every day I wish to make the world more beautiful than I found it"

DIY magnet with quote "There's nothing like a child's smile to make all the chaos worthwhile"

DIY magnet with quote "A joyful spirit is evidence of a grateful heart"

Handmade magnet with quote "Do all things with love"

About Ashley

I'm a handmade shop owner specializing in crochet toys (amigurumi), accessories and patterns. I'm also a stay-at-home mom to my daughter and 2 sons and the lucky wife of a wonderful man who tolerates my yarn addiction and encourages me to keep crafting, even if the dishes don't get done ^_^
This entry was posted in Craft Projects and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making Use of Your Craft Clutter

  1. CereusArt says:

    How cool! Thanks for sharing – I love positive affirmations, so I’ll def give this a try.

Leave a Reply

